Sharing allows users to provide access to their Email, Calendar, Contacts, Notes, and Tasks folders with any other user or group. This can enable users to provide visibility into their mailbox content and leverage the ability to work within a separate shared workspace where these details can exist.
Managing Sharing Rights
User sharing rights are managed at the folder level and can be adjusted directly within the Kerio Connect Client (Desktop or Webmail), as well as through certain 3rd-party email clients such as Outlook when connected via KOFF. The process for adjusting these sharing rights is similar for all sharable content with minor variations detailed within the articles below:
- Sharing Calendars in Kerio Connect Client
- Sharing Email Folders in Kerio Connect Client
- Sharing Contacts, Notes, and Task Folders in Kerio Connect Client
When sharing content, users can define the specific target audience of the share and the access rights of the specified audience. Note that when providing Email sharing rights to a particular user or group of users, you will have the additional option to apply to the parent folder only or also all sub-folders:
Shareable content has the following options available for their target audience (note that not all options may be available for all content types based on server configuration):
- Everyone in a Domain
- This will share the specific resource with everyone within the domain. This option will only be available for the user’s own domain if the “Unique for each domain” public folder option is selected.
- If Global public folders are used, users are able to share with any domain on the Connect server.
- Everyone on the server
- This option is only available if Global public folders are being used, and will share the resource with all users on the Connect server.
- Anonymous Users
- This option is only available for Calendars and provides open public access to the resource. This can be shared through the use of direct CalDav Urls for anyone to connect to via their CalDav client.
- Specific Users
- This is the most common option for most sharing and allows you to specify a particular email address or Kerio Connect User Group to provide access to the resource.
Each of the target audiences above can be provided with one of the following sharing rights:
- Reader — Users can only see the events (automatically set for Public access).
- Editor — Users can add, delete, and edit events.
- Owner — Users can set sharing as well as add, delete, and edit events.
Displaying Shared Folders
Once a folder has been shared with your user, you will need to enable its display before you can start using it. By default, when access is provided, this will not automatically add them as visible within Webmail or the Desktop client. Instead, users must then enable the display of the folders shared with them.
Other email clients may similarly have their own unique configuration requirements, such as using KOFF within Outlook or within the native macOS Calendar client.
When making use of ActiveSync or WebDav, be aware that Shared Folders are not enabled to synchronize by default. In addition, Exchange does not support the synchronization of Shared Contacts. The supported content types can be manually adjusted from the Folders to Sync Settings menu in the Kerio Connect Client (Webmail or Desktop):
Common Issues with Sharing
Many issues with sharing can be traced back to incorrectly assigned or corrupted sharing references. These can often be addressed by simply removing and reading the sharing rights, as seen within Shared Calendar is not visible. For any undocumented issues, you can reference the guidance within Shared Calendars - Troubleshooting Article.
Sharing vs Delegation
One common source of confusion is the differing functionality of Shared Calendars and Shared Email folders and Delegation:
- When providing the “Editor” or “Owner” sharing access rights to a Calendar, the user is unable to edit events containing more than one attendee.
- When providing the “Editor” or “Owner” sharing access rights to an Email folder, the user is unable to send emails on behalf of the true owner of the folder.
This additional functionality is reserved through the use of delegation. The naming of the access rights, however, may imply otherwise.