When you edit a Task in Kerio Connect's client/webmail, some information could be lost or reset related to that Task and the Task would then appear incorrect in Microsoft Outlook. This can have users raising issues that their Tasks' progress/status is not being tracked correctly. This article explains this limitation, why this can happen, and the parameters that can get reset in these conditions.
- Kerio Connect tracks the below information related to Tasks:
- Due Date
- Reminder Date and Reminder Time
- Completed or not
- In addition to the above, Microsoft Outlook tracks other information like Status, Percentage Complete, Priority, etc.
- Since Kerio Connect tracks a subset of the information as that tracked by Outlook, some of it like percentage complete and status can get reset. This is a current limitation of Kerio Connect.
- This behavior can also occur if there are other clients connected to the same user's email account and if those clients are editing anything related to Tasks.
Below is an example that shows this behavior:
- Consider a Task that is newly created. This is how it appears in Outlook:
- Update the Task in Outlook - it's % Complete is updated to 30%, and Status is updated to In Progress, and then the Task is saved. This is how it now appears in Outlook:
- Go to Kerio Connect web client > Tasks, select the task, and click on Edit. Alternatively, you can double click the Task to open it for editing:
- Edit the Description (or any other field) and click on Save:
- Go to Outlook. The % Complete and Status fields will be reset to what they were when the Task was created i.e., 0% and Not Started:
- However, the Description will be updated as expected: